For Everyone
Who Loves Edinburgh

Trustees standing for election & re-election 2015 - 2018

Posted on 24 Jun 2015 by Marion

We have two nominations for election and two for re-election at this year's AGM which takes place next Tuesday, 30 June at 6.00pm at the Methodist Church, Nicolson Square.


Nominations for election

Pam Barnes

Pam is  concerned at the continuing loss of Green Belt and Open Space in the city which will never be recovered and wishes to challenge the Scottish Government and Historic Scotland as well as the CEC on their attitudes to economic development. Pam hopes to contribute to the Cockburn Association's attempts to engage with these problems.

Nominated by: James Simpson

Seconded by: Moyra Forrest


Philip Thomson

Philip is a project manager & consulting structural engineer and the Managing Director of Thomson & Partners, Edinburgh. He is keen to make a contribution to the work of the Association and brings practical skills as a professional Structural Engineer to the organisation. 

Nominated by: Richard Scothorne

Seconded by: Ian Harrower


Nominations for re-election

Richard Rodger

Richard is a Professor of Economic and Social History at Edinburgh University. He has published widely on the economic, business and urban history of Britain from 1800 to the present day. As author and editor, Richard has published 16 books, and over 100 articles and chapters; he was General Editor for a series of 40 books under the title ofHistorical Urban Studies, and was Editor of Urban History, published by Cambridge University Press, between 1987 and 2007. Richard is a member of the Cases Committee.

Nominated by: Jane Roy

Seconded by: Iam Temple


Rosemary Woodroffe

Rosemary read Classics at Girton College, Cambridge and is a solicitor and a member of the Society of Writers to HM Signet. She is Chairman of the Friends of the Royal Scottish Academy. A Burgess of the City of Edinburgh, she is a former Deacon of the Incorporation of Bonnet makers & Dyers of Edinburgh and company secretary of The Virtual Hamilton Palace Trust. Rosemary is a member of the Management & Finance Committee.

Nominated by: Philip Brodie

Seconded by: John Fleming


With four candidates for the four vacancies the meeting will be asked for its approval that they be elected as Trustees for the period 2015 - 2018